Kenneth Loh Awarded Fulbright Scholarship

Kenneth Loh


The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has selected Kenneth Loh, an assistant professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Davis, as a 2013 Fulbright Scholar. The award will facilitate Loh’s research efforts at the National Taiwan University in Taipei City, Taiwan. 

The recent recipient of an NSF CAREER award, Loh attended Johns Hopkins University for his B.S. in civil engineering. He went on to the University of Michigan, where earned a masters in materials science & engineering and in civil engineering, and a Ph.D. in civil engineering. Loh joined the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Davis in 2008. 

With the support of the Fulbright scholarship, Loh will work with researchers at National Taiwan University to improve bridge scour understanding with the objective of preventing scour-induced bridge collapses. Bridge scour, or the erosion of earth at bridge foundations by flowing water, is already a leading cause of bridge failures worldwide. This study will characterize and validate a new sensing system that can measure 3D scour hole evolution in space and time. Data from large-scale testing performed at National Taiwan University will be used to improve/update fluid-structure models for evaluating bridge foundation degradation. Model results and assessments of current design practices will be used to improve future design codes in the U.S. and Taiwan. 

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to “increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.” With this goal as a starting point, the Fulbright Program has provided almost 300,000 participants—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by then-Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 7,500 new grants annually. Currently, the Fulbright Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide. Fulbright scholars have become heads of state, judges, ambassadors, cabinet ministers, CEOs, university presidents, journalists, artists, professors and teachers. They have been awarded 43 Nobel Prizes.