Logo of the National Academy of Engineering.
From the National Academy of Engineering.

Professor Dan Sperling Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Congratulations to Professor Sperling for receiving one of the highest honors in engineering!

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) announced in a press release on Feb. 9 that Professor Dan Sperling has been elected as a member of the 2022 class of the NAE for leadership and outstanding entrepreneurial contributions in transportation energy, advancing alternative energy policies and promoting government-industry-university collaborations.

Among other achievements, Professor Sperling is the founding director of UC Davis' Institute for Transportation Studies and founding chair of the Policy Institute for Energy, Environment, and Economy. He is also a Distinguished Blue Planet Prize Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Environmental Science. His research interests include transportation, energy, and climate policy. His full profile can be found here.

Professor Sperling will join fellow CEE faculty members Professor Ross Boulanger, Professor Jay Lund, and Professor Deb Niemeier in membership in the NAE. According to the NAE website, membership is one of the highest professional distinctions awarded to an engineer, honoring "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Congratulations, Professor Sperling!

Primary Category